Expertise Directory

Expertise Directory

Welcome to the Digital Media and Learning Research Hub’s online Expertise Directory. The aim of the directory is to assist the media in accessing expertise and opinion on a wide range of interest areas in the Digital Media and Learning field. It is a handy guide for media looking for quotes and background information or general commentary from leading scholars, researchers, and practitioners in the DML field. If you cannot find the expert you need, or if you have questions or need further clarification regarding the areas of expertise below, please contact the DML Research Hub’s Communications department directly at 949-824-4587.

21st Century Education Policy
Doug Belshaw
Open Education Resources; mobile learning and digital literacies
doug@mozillafoundation.org
Cathy Davidson
Social and cultural history of technology; new modes of peer-to-peer assessment; redesigning institutions for the digital age, especially higher education
cathy.davidson@duke.edu
Antero Garcia
Youth critical literacy/civic identity through new media and game play; education policy for public institutions
anterobot@gmail.com
monika hardy
Learning innovation in educational settings; connected adjacency
monk51295@gmail.com
Howard Rheingold
Educational practices for 21st Century literacies; cultural, social, and political implications of 21st Century communication; social media in teaching and learning; peeragogy
howard@rheingold.com
Constance M. Yowell
Educational research, policy, and practice; philanthropy
cyowell@macfound.org
21st Century Literacies
Doug Belshaw
Open Education Resources; mobile learning and digital literacies
doug@mozillafoundation.org
Elyse Eidman-Aadahl
Digital writing, connected learning, professional development, action research and inquiry, networked organizations and communities of practice
elyseea@nwp.org
Kris Gutiérrez
Learning Sciences, Literacy and New Media Literacies, and Design Based Implementation Research; Social Design Experiments for youth from non-dominant communities
Kris.Gutierrez@Colorado.edu
John Jones
Effects of technology on writing practices; digital rhetoric
john.jones@mail.wvu.edu
Bill Penuel
Interest development, assessment, evaluation, science learning in and out of school
william.penuel@colorado.edu
Alternative Evaluation
Doug Belshaw
Open Education Resources; mobile learning and digital literacies
doug@mozillafoundation.org
David Theo Goldberg
Race and racism; social and political theory; social-legal studies/law and society
goldberg@uci.edu
Barry Joseph
Youth culture, games & learning; alternative evaluation and credentialing; museums in the digital age
bjoseph@amnh.org
Childhood in the Digital Age
danah boyd
The intersection of social media and youth culture; privacy and publicity; bullying and online safety
press@danah.org
Mimi Ito
Social and cultural implications of youth’s use and engagement with media technology; socially connected learning experiences for young people
mizukoi@uci.edu
Sonia Livingstone
Media audiences; children, young people and the internet in social, domestic and educational contexts; media and digital literacies; the mediated public sphere; Internet use and policy; the public understanding of communications regulation
s.livingstone@lse.ac.uk
Jean Rhodes
Formal and informal youth mentoring groups/programs; adolescent transition into adulthood
Jean.rhodes@umb.edu
Connected Learning
Elyse Eidman-Aadahl
Digital writing, connected learning, professional development, action research and inquiry, networked organizations and communities of practice
elyseea@nwp.org
Mike Hawkins
Youth mentorship; media production
mhawkins@digitalyouthnetwork.org
Mimi Ito
Social and cultural implications of youth’s use and engagement with media technology; socially connected learning experiences for young people
mizukoi@uci.edu
Katie Salen
Game and media design; interactive design
katie.salen@gmail.com
S. Craig Watkins
Youth’s social and digital media behaviors; equity; digital divides in race and ethnicity
scwatkins@mail.utexas.edu
Constance M. Yowell
Educational research, policy, and practice; philanthropy
cyowell@macfound.org
Games and Learning
Katie Salen
Game and media design; interactive design
katie.salen@gmail.com
Kurt Squire
Gamed-based learning
kurt.squire@gmail.com
Constance Steinkuehler
Video games and learning; cognition and learning in online games
constances@gmail.com
Mobile Media Technologies
Mimi Ito
Social and cultural implications of youth’s use and engagement with media technology; socially connected learning experiences for young people
mizukoi@uci.edu
Elisabeth (Lissa) Soep
Youth media; digital culture and literacy
lissa@youthradio.org
Online Civic and Political Engagement
Danielle Allen
Democratic theory; political sociology
dsallen@ias.edu
Cathy Cohen
African-American politics; marginal groups; social movements
cjcohen@uchicago.edu
Antero Garcia
Youth critical literacy/civic identity through new media and game play; education policy for public institutions
anterobot@gmail.com
Howard Gardner
Multiple intelligences, creativity, leadership, and ethics
howard_gardner@harvard.edu
Henry Jenkins
New media and participatory culture
hjenkins@usc.edu
Barry Joseph
Youth culture, games & learning; alternative evaluation and credentialing; museums in the digital age
bjoseph@amnh.org
Joseph Kahne
Democratic and civic education; digital media and public participation
jkahne@mills.edu
Ethan Zuckerman
Internet and democratic engagement
ethanz@mit.edu
Elisabeth (Lissa) Soep
lissa@youthradio.org
Privacy and Safety in the Digital Age
danah boyd
The intersection of social media and youth culture; privacy and publicity; bullying and online safety
press@danah.org
Sonia Livingstone
Media audiences; children, young people and the internet in social, domestic and educational contexts; media and digital literacies; the mediated public sphere; Internet use and policy; the public understanding of communications regulation
s.livingstone@lse.ac.uk
Jason Schultz
Data sharing; intellectual property
jschultz@law.berkeley.edu
Race, Gender, and Identity in Digital Media
Lyndsay Grant
Social justice in digital media; social and educational inequalities; digital literacies
lyndsay.grant@bristol.ac.uk
Kris Gutiérrez
Learning Sciences, Literacy and New Media Literacies, and Design Based Implementation Research; Social Design Experiments for youth from non-dominant communities
Kris.Gutierrez@Colorado.edu
Henry Jenkins
New media and participatory culture
hjenkins@usc.edu
Raquel Recuero
Virtual communities/ social networks on the Internet; talk and information flows and capital in cyberspace
raquel@raquelrecuero.com
Juliet Schor
Consumption; commercialization of childhood; sustainable consumption
juliet.schor@bc.edu
S. Craig Watkins
Youth’s social and digital media behaviors; equity; digital divides in race and ethnicity
scwatkins@mail.utexas.edu
Social Media/Networks in Education
Akili Lee
Social networking within youth communities; digital media learning tools for youth-focused organizations
akili@digitalyouthnetwork.org
Raquel Recuero
Virtual communities/ social networks on the Internet; talk and information flows and capital in cyberspace
raquel@raquelrecuero.com
Youth Culture
danah boyd
The intersection of social media and youth culture; privacy and publicity; bullying and online safety
press@danah.org
Mike Hawkins
Youth mentorship; media production
mhawkins@digitalyouthnetwork.org
Mimi Ito
Social and cultural implications of youth’s use and engagement with media technology; socially connected learning experiences for young people
mizukoi@uci.edu
Barry Joseph
Youth culture, games & learning; alternative evaluation and credentialing; museums in the digital age
bjoseph@amnh.org
Akili Lee
Social networking within youth communities; digital media learning tools for youth-focused organizations
akili@digitalyouthnetwork.org
Jean Rhodes
Formal and informal youth mentoring groups/programs; adolescent transition into adulthood
Jean.rhodes@umb.edu
Elisabeth (Lissa) Soep
Youth media; digital culture and literacy
lissa@youthradio.org
Elisabeth (Lissa) Soep
lissa@youthradio.org